Community Search
Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
News & Press: Member Co-op News

Special Electric Co-op Recognition for MN Representative Collin Peterson

Monday, May 1, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Shari Wormwood
Share |















Last week in Washington, D.C., MREA member cooperative representatives packed 1310 Longworth, a beautiful committee hearing room, to honor Representative Collin Peterson.  NRECA CEO Jim Matheson joined the group to present the NRECA Distinguished Service Award, to the 13-term lawmaker for his career of service. The co-op delegation responded with a standing ovation for the Congressman.


“From my perspective, he’s never forgotten why he’s here,” said Matheson, who served alongside Peterson as a member of Congress from 2001-2015. “He’s always been there to represent the people back home. You could say that I patterned myself after him,” he said, noting that others in Congress saw him as a role model, too.


“Thank you for what you do back home,” Peterson told co-ops. “We are doing what we can to keep you going and keep things in line.” As he so often does, Peterson took the time to provide an update to cooperative members in attendance, as well as listen and respond to the issues at hand that day. Within hours of the meeting, his office was already responding to the issues discussed.


“Peterson has stood strong with co-ops on several issues,” said Darrick Moe, CEO of the Minnesota Rural Electric Association in Maple Grove. Coordinating House support for Rural Utilities Service funding; asking the Environmental Protection Agency during Clean Power Plan rollout for enough time for compliance; and backing efforts to preserve the use of large-capacity electric water heaters in load control programs, among other things. “In general, he is very supportive of virtually all of our priorities, and routinely crosses party lines to support rural electric cooperative positions,” said Moe.


The NRECA Board of Directors bestows its Distinguished Service Award upon a national leader who has made outstanding contributions to the progress of electric cooperatives and whose history of support for rural electrification and public power merits special recognition. Former recipients have included Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Hubert Humphrey, Jo Ann Emerson and Heidi Heitkamp.


Rocha, Victoria. “Face-to-Face-Time Never Gets Old” NRECA News, May 2, 2017

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal